Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2014, 06:37 PM   #1

Pentax 67 lens on 645Z metering issue

I am new to Pentax and got my 645Z one week ago, but I do have many Pentax 67 lenses, so I got the PT76-PT645 adapter for using the 67 lenses on my 645Z. Today, I found one issue on metering that I am not sure is my operation problem, or something I am not aware of. I were trying two lenses of Pentax 67 on the 645Z, the 500 f5.6 and the 105 f2.4, both have the same metering issue. I was using the average metering, when shooting wide open, the resulted exposure seems slightly over, but still look OK, however, when I step down the aperture on the lens by one step, I found the resulted photo will be over explosed by about one step, so will need to provide a "-1" exposure or more ( I was using "A" (Aperture Priority) mode) on the camera, when step down the aperture by 2 steps, then it might need to do "-3" to provide correct exposure. However, the LV on screen were always correct no matter your do "-1" or "-3" ( speed will be slower of course). Then I thought perhaps the aperture was re-open in actual shooting, so I watched the iris while shooting was done, but I saw no change on the iris, it is always closed as the aperture control doing it. It also seems the PT67-PT645 adapter will not do anything between the lens and the camera. So I really wonder why when using the 67 lenses, the exposure will be over according to their aperture step-down. While the LV on the 645Z do able to get correct exposure. When using the Pentax 645 lens ( I have the 35FA and 55DA lenses) on the 645Z there is no such issue. Anybody have any idea what am I doing wrong?

12-31-2014, 07:06 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Do you have the AUTO/MAN lever on the lens set to MAN?
12-31-2014, 07:09 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums