Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-09-2015, 02:43 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax 645n film motor drive problem

Hi all. This is my first post so I'll try to introduce myself first. I'm a film photographer from croatia just switched from rolleiflex to pentax 645n.

I just bought pentax 645n camera on ebay from Japan.So my camera came with 220back and no lens...loaded 220 ilford film turned the camera on and what happens: it just doesnt stop rewinding untill the end of the film..frame:1,23.4.5,6....33 end..and it just used my whole role...did that with 3 rolls...all the time same thing...with no film and back attached when i turn the camera ON it start automaticly rewinding film and motor works till i turn OFF..with no back attached it doesn't do that, shutter works and everything works...any thoughts?

tnx in advance

love you all
memo

03-09-2015, 08:53 AM   #2

Clean the contacts of your film-insert or try another one.

If you turn your insert pressure-plate up, thumb-wheel to the right, you can see two springs through a small rectangular window in the film pressure-plate.
These springs should only have contact to the small round contact on the right side of your insert.
They short-cut to body-frame at beginning and end of film. This is how the camera recognizes the film position.
(Written from memory, my 645NII rests in the shelf for nearly 2 years now)
Contact me if you need some spare inserts.

-Linus-

Last edited by -Linus-; 03-09-2015 at 11:28 AM.
03-09-2015, 12:11 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Did you mean these little guys?

Sorry I'm new in pentax world and am a little bit sad because camera doesnt function proerly and am affraid that something bigger than insert failure is going on
03-09-2015, 02:49 PM   #4

Yes, those are the ones.
I gave away all my remaining films - so I can't simulate your type of failure.

-Linus-

03-18-2015, 09:14 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster