Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2015, 07:33 PM   #1

645 FA vs A lenses

Hello everyone. I've been lurking on the forums for several months and finally decided to actually register. I'm a landscape photographer and currently shoot digital with Canon, but picked up a 645N film camera last January and have been having a blast with both the new format and shooting with film.

I picked up the 645N used through Adorama and purchased the 45mm A and 75mm A lenses since those were the only ones they had used in stock (without fungus/mold). Since then, I've put several rolls of film though the camera and have enjoyed every second of learning how to do photography all over again with film. I also haven't touched the 75mm lens since that first roll when I tested it to make sure if wasn't defective as I don't need that FOV much. I do, however, absolutely love the 45mm lens and haven't any of the flare issues that I've read about on the forums here.

My question tonight is, are the FA lenses worth the extra hundred dollars over their A counterparts? Giving that this camera will likely be 100% used for landscapes, I don't need the autofocus functionality. From what I've researched, the FA versions are likely about a decade newer than the A versions, but were their major optical enhancements in this time? Specifically I'm looking to pick up the 35mm lens next and would prefer the A version if for no other reason than I already own 77mm filters. I'm also looking to possibly add the 150mm, as the equivalent ~100mm FOV is attractive as well.