Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2015, 09:09 PM   #1

645D/Z with D-FA Lens: Constant aperture in exposure braket sequence

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum.

For the last year and a half I have been shooting 645D, and Z for last six months. I have ongoing work which requires shooting bracketed sequences of artworks containing light sources of varying intensities. These are shot from a solid tripod, using a cable release, AF disabled, constant aperture, while auto-bracketing the shutter speed. All is well when using A, FA, & 67 lenses, as I can set the aperture manually. But, when using the DFA 55 I can not figure out how to get the camera to shoot the sequence with a constant aperture. I get a proper bracket in terms of exposure values, but the shutter speed and aperture are varied according to the camera's logic. The only way I can work around this, is to bracket by hand, which can introduce camera movement.

Has anyone else encountered this, and more importantly, have you figured out a solution?

Thanks,

Philipp

04-09-2015, 09:34 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Use Av exposure mode. The camera will then vary just the shutter speed.
04-09-2015, 11:23 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Ole,
Thanks for your reply. I tried that, but as the lighting changes, the Av responds of course. I'm need to have a known set of shutter speeds at a constant aperture, regardless of varying light levels. I guess I'm going to have to stick with the older lenses, maybe find a 55mm A or adapt a 67 55mm.
04-10-2015, 02:51 AM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Philippp Quote
Hi Ole,
Thanks for your reply. I tried that, but as the lighting changes, the Av responds of course. I'm need to have a known set of shutter speeds at a constant aperture, regardless of varying light levels. I guess I'm going to have to stick with the older lenses, maybe find a 55mm A or adapt a 67 55mm.