Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2015, 09:40 AM   #1

645Z Questions?

I am an advertising photographer. I owned the 645D. I had some buffer issues and sold it. I am considering 645Z.

1. With the 645D, if I was shooting portraits to SD card high speed, I would often hit the Buffer in the camera if I shot several frames in a row quickly. Has this issue been addressed in the Processing Engine of the new Z camera?

2. I had heard some SD cards do not work with the Z camera. Is there a speed of card rating to ensure the Z writes to card reliably?

3. I tether often. Are people tethering to Lightroom, or to a HotWatched Folder in CaptureOne 8? (Or maybe even the Pentax software?)

4. Has anyone devised a way to mount Contax 645 lens on the Z camera, with an adaptor? I'd love to mount the Contax 80mm f2 lens for wide open shooting.

Thank you for any feedback on this nice camera.

05-01-2015, 10:29 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I can only speak to question #1...it's MUCH faster than the 645D, at least twice as fast, maybe three times. But still slower than other cameras with smaller files.
05-01-2015, 12:38 PM   #3
Pentaxian

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/48-pentax-medium-format/145963-pentax-med...a-adapter.html

Looks like Contax flange distance is shorter than Pentax, therefore adapted lenses would not be able to focus to infinity.
05-01-2015, 01:03 PM   #4
Veteran Member

1. The Z is much faster than the D in every way possible, and I don't think I ever hit the buffer with it yet, but I also don't let off really long bursts.

2. Actually there were problems with the D where using UHS-I SD cards would cause corrupt images randomly, something I myself experienced. As long as you use Sandisk or Lexar cards you'll be fine, I never had a problem yet with the Z.