Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2015, 12:56 PM   #1

What is the function of the "A" aperture setting for SMC A 645 lens?

I'm new to the 645Z and have purchased a couple of SMC A lens to use with the camera. How does the "A" aperture setting function with the camera?

Thanks,
Phil

05-12-2015, 12:58 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The A setting allows the camera to set the aperture.
05-12-2015, 01:06 PM   #3

Original Poster
That's what I was thinking. However, I'm seeing some confusion when manually setting the aperature on the "A" lens, as the info provided by the camera doesn't always agree with the manual setting. I've been assuming that the LCD info should be ignored; or else, I'm doing something wrong. Or, there could be something wrong with the lens.
05-12-2015, 01:06 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by boriscleto Quote
The A setting allows the camera to set the aperture.
This. Set the lens to A and use the dial to set the aperture. The aperture will stop down when you release the shutter but will stay fully open while framing and focusing. If you want to preview with the aperture stopped down, pull the power button beyond "ON".

05-12-2015, 01:36 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not sure about 645, but if they are the same as K-mount, then A setting surrenders the aperture choice to the camera. So you can choose the aperture number manually, but the camera won't know what you chose! And then you need to use Av mode (which will not stop down the aperture to your choice, but will shoot wide open. Note that auto ISO or any more other than M defaults to Av), or M mode - where you can use the green button to let the camera stop down meter and select the shutter speed.