Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2015, 07:39 AM   #1

Desperately seeking advice on a SLEW of Pentax 67 issues

Hi guys,

I've been using film cameras for the past 10 years and this is by far the weirdest thing that's ever happened to me. I just bought a second-hand Pentax 67 (not the old 6x7, a relatively recent 67 model) in Japan that was in excellent condition -- the shop owner test-fired it on the spot and the exposure meter was moving, no problem. Coupling chain all intact.

Then I brought it home and loaded a new film. Did the battery check, and the light went red. Good. Advanced the film lever, hit the mirror-up switch. Clack. Tried to press the shutter button. Nothing happened. At that point I thought the shutter had already fired -- maybe I'd mistaken the sound of the mirror slap for that -- and tried to advance the lever. It will not budge at all. I do a battery check. The light is dead.

I try the usual workaround -- hitting the reset button and pressing the shutter, nothing happens. I read somewhere that it helps to have fresh batteries while doing this, so I go out today and buy some. Load the batteries in, light goes red. I check the meter. It's not moving. Hit reset and the shutter. Nothing happens.

I take the lens off, then take the prism off, then put the prism back on, and take the lens on. What I see is that the shutter curtain is closed, but the mirror is NOT down. Still no reaction from the meter. At this point, I take the film out and tried to start the dry-fire process, i.e. open the back and try to move the exposure counter manually. Nothing budges.

Here's the weird thing -- less than 10 mins had passed since I loaded the fresh battery. I hit battery check again and the light is dead. It's definitely the right battery too, a 6V PX28.

Things that I'm 150% sure of:

1. Shutter lock is NOT on.
2. Pressure plate is on 120 as it should be.