Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2015, 10:16 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Why f:4.5 rather than f:2.8 in "studio zooms"?

This is quite likely a really dumb question, but as a medium format total newb, I have to ask it.

I'm planning the Big Move from K-3 to 645Z. The body is the easy part. Now I'm examining my lens options and this is where it all goes sideways.

My two most used lenses in studio are DA* 16-50/2.8 and DA* 50-135/2.8. And they have exact equivalents in the Full Frame world: 24-70 and 70-200. So if I was planning the move to FF, I'd be ready to order.

But looking over the lens list and in speaking with studio shooters, the two more or less equivalents in the 645 lineup are the 45-85mm and the 80-160mm. Yeah, not quite the same thing but whatever.

However both of these are f:4.5 glass. WTF? Losing a stop and a third of light? How and why is this acceptable to studio shooters? Is there something that happens optically in the 645 system that makes this no big deal? Does the large bright viewfinder somehow make this all better?

<whine> What about my beautiful f:2.8? </whine>

Thanks in advance!

07-30-2015, 10:20 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

f/4.5 will give you similar bokeh on medium format as f/2.8 does on full frame.
Besides, it would be huge!

M
07-30-2015, 10:27 AM   #3
bmw

Original Poster
Well, I understand about the DoF and bokeh. This question is less about that -- though it's a minor concern -- it's more about the fact that there will be over a stop less light when I'm focusing on a distant model who is lit only by modeling lamps. This is already an issue for me, especially as I generally resort to manual focus to avoid hunting and slow AF speeds under low light.
07-30-2015, 10:57 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by bmw Quote