Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2015, 09:52 AM - 1 Like   #1

Beginner requires some medium format guidance...

Hi there! First off let me say, this is my first post ever in Pentax forums so I apologize in advance for anything I do that is wrong. Second, let's talk about myself so it may give you a little more insight into my situation.

I'm a young college student who has taken photography as a hobby since high school. I taught myself photography with 35mm film on the Canon AE-1 (with a faulty light meter) and found that I love film. Later, had enough money for a starter dslr, Canon T3i. From there, added a Fujifilm X100. Sold both, moved to Canon 5D (mark I / Classic) plus Olympus E-M5. 5D had broken pins, did not want to repair it. Now left with the E-M5. Still have this persistent itch to shoot film, but would like to shoot film more often than digital (there's something about it that's more beautiful and helps me create much better photos), but digital is much more convenient (darn my lack of patience!). Medium format caught my eye. They're not common, they shoot film (speaking of the 120 and 220 bodies), produce great photos, and huge (makes you look so badass).

However, the thing is I'm also the type to be very impulsive, especially with photographic equipment. I want stuff but sometimes I don't take time to think and look at what I want (though I do a lot of research that actually distracts me from my real work). I need some guidance on how to get into medium format, the smart way. I don't want to jump in and expect to know everything.

I shoot mostly fashion / lifestyle, portraits, street photography, and the like; but want to get into couples, weddings and engagement and such.

I want everything that medium format offers, except:
- I don't know what size or whatever I should get (645, 67...?)
- I don't know what are some good lenses (on a budget)