Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2016, 11:40 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
carrying around a Pentax 67

I saw a mint Pentax 67 with a non-metered prism in the local shop. It came with three lenses: 105, 165 and something wider. I immediately fell in love I've been shooting 35mm film for a bit over a year (around 10 rolls in total), and i'd totally like to try this thing out!

However, considering the size of the body and the lenses, and the fact that I really like my film MX with the M 50mm f1.7, I'm wondering if it realistic that one just straps this camera on a shoulder (I use a sling-style strap), and take hand-held shots? I do have a tripod, but my preferred way of shooting is that I walk around and take photos of random stuff - mostly buildings and nature on the nearby parks.

I'm by no means a pro, so the only reason I'd get this is the same as for the film 35mm: full-metal body, full-metal lenses, bright viewfinder, and in general it's a joy to use. And the worse part: I've got the finance minister's approval

02-28-2016, 12:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

man i want one just for that 105 lens.... every shot i have ever seen is blowing me away...
02-28-2016, 12:33 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
For the average photographer, I'd say the 67 is too heavy and bulky even with a wide neoprene strap and the big wood handle grip. My limit is a Pentax 645. But the payoff increases with that size and bulk and the 67 produces nearly twice the size negs as my 645. If you are really excited and committed to the idea of amazing 20x24" and larger prints, then the extra sweat and perhaps wrist brace is worth it.