Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2016, 05:22 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Forum Member

some star test results

This is mainly for astrophotography. For stars, the lens need to be sharp at wide apertures in both the center and corners, with as little coma and color aberration as possible. This is kind of different from the requirements of portrait or landscape photography. I am still new to the P645 system, and am trying to figure out what lenses may be used for astrophotography. The best way to find out the answers is to actually shoot stars. At this moment, I only have four lenses that can be attached to 645z. Here are what I got, and some comments. In the image, I show the center, and four extreme corners.

645 DFA 55/2.8
F2.8: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_55mm/f2.8_stack_mosaic.jpg
F3.5: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_55mm/f3.5_stack_mosaic.jpg
F4.0: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_55mm/f4.0_stack_mosaic.jpg
F4.5: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_55mm/f4.5_stack_mosaic.jpg

I feel this lens is borderline OK for astrophotography, and definitely not excellent. It only becomes barely acceptable after stopping down to F4.5. I may be forced to use it at F4.0 in some situations, but I won't have a smile face when I do so.

---------- Post added 03-28-16 at 05:26 AM ----------

This is for the FA 35/3.5.

F4.0: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_35mm/F4.0_mosaic.jpg
F5.0: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15886389/645_lens_tests/645_35mm/F5.0_mosaic.jpg

This lens is incredibly sharp in the center. I have never seen such pinpoint stars from any other lenses on my D800, including the highly respected Sigma 50/1.4 Art and 35/1.4 Art.