Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2016, 07:48 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

Report from PhotoPlus Expo and some thoughts

I'm hesitant to start a new thread as I am far from an expert here, but no one has commented about this so here goes....

Was up at PhotoPlus Expo in NYC on Thursday the 20th of October, 2016. Thanks to Service Photo in Baltimore for providing 2 buses for the trip for their customers. Although I have to say that the demographic was depressing: everyone mostly my age (60) or older. The only bright spot was both racial and gender diversity, but that has been a quiet characteristic of Service Photo in Baltimore for a long time. It's a good place, so if you are in the area you should stop in----although they are mainly Nikon/Canon oriented, with Fuji, Sony, Leica and a tiny dash of Oly tossed in. I hope they will do Pentax one day, but....

Once again Pentax was at PhotoPlus Expo, with a little more presence even than last year. Unfortunately the combination of off-to-the-side placement, smaller booth, smaller show and thus a lack of vendors down that side of the hall made the booth seem a little lost. Fortunately it did seem to be getting consistent traffic throughout the day, as I wound up being over there multiple times.

This year the K-1 was out of the case for handling, so that was drawing interest. The Z's available seemed to be getting consistent interest, and this year they had a guy from Japan there who seemed to know more about it than the US guys did last year. That's not necessarily a knock on the Pentax guys, as they are salespeople first. I now a lot of people in sales from different places, and the most important thing in sales is being a good salesperson, not an equipment expert. That's why there are tech reps. And there aren't enough of them among any of the equipment makers, not just Pentax.