Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2017, 07:08 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Lens choice: 6x7 45mm vs 55mm f/4 vs 55mm f/3.5

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Morning, folks!

I'm brand new to the Pentax family and to medium format film in general. I caught the bug when I stumbled across a Lomo Lubitel at a garage sale last summer. But I didn't start shooting until last month, when I met up with a buddy who has a Pentax 67 and a Mamiya 645.

Needless to say I fell in love with the 67. The hand-holdability, the max shutter speed, the low price, the SLR form factor... and the mojo of the handle. I got really lucky and found a 67 (not 6x7) with a TTL viewfinder, 75mm f/4.5 lens, handle, and strap for a fantastic price. The body is in amazing shape, too. So I am very happy and I am looking to expand my lens collection.

I opted to go with the 150mm f/2.8 vs the 165mm f 2.8 for two reasons:

1) My buddy has the 165 already, and I want to somewhat compliment his lens selection for when we shoot together
2) I read on the forums here that the 150 is basically the same quality but for a cheaper price. I can't attest to the quality, but certainly the Ebay price was easier on my wallet than the 165.

Now to my question!

I'm looking for a wide-angle lens to compliment my portrait length (150) and my normal length (75). I want to use it for landscapes and architectural photography mostly. In general, I want to use this camera for fine art/portrait photography, walk around/street photography, and landscapes/architectural photos.

Again, I am looking to save coin (because I have a DSLR that is my true workhorse and pride and joy). Should I:

1) Spend the "big bucks" (looks like $250-300) on the 45mm?