Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2017, 12:20 PM   #1

"Upgrading" decision, Pentax 645Z or Nikon D850(810)

Hi, I really don't know what to choose.

I currently own a Pentax 645D, and although it has great resolution and image quality in general, I do feel limited by the dynamic range and ISO performance. Being a professional cinematographer, I'm used to 15 stops of dynamic range and at least ISO 800, although I can use up to ISO 2000 with great results in some cameras.

I'm not a profesional photographer right now, I don't make any money from stills, but I want to change that, I'm currently creating a portfolio of portraits and headshots, to see if I can make some money on that front. Cinematography right now in my city has stalled for the moment.

Like I said, the 645D is a great camera for the studio, with controlled strobes, but when you shoot on location, either inside it's hard controlling ambient light at ISO 100 or 200 with an aperture of 5.6 at the most, for depth of field or lenses that don't open more with sharp results. And going to ISO 400 or more loses DR and sharpness. And outside the DR is too limiting, you only have about 1.5 to 2 stops on the high end, so you need to expose for the highlights, leaving the pictures looking underexposed and hard to judge on the LCD, specially the focus or even see anything at all in sunshine.

So, I want to upgrade to something with more DR and better low light picture quality. So a CMOS it is. I'll have around $7,000 USD to spend, so that's only leaves the 645Z, because I will only need the body and a 150mm 2.8 and 120mm macro, I have all the other lenses I'll need. And I'll buy the body used, I've seen it around $4,500 -$5,000.
Or a Nikon 810 used with the 70-200 used and an 135mm f2 and an 85mm 1.4 or even 1.8. Or a new Nikon 850.
I can even go with a Nikon 610 and more lenses for that price, but I'll be losing about half the resolution.