Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2017, 11:01 PM   #1

How much of viewfinder is on the frame?

Specifically, I have the original 645. And I'm new to mf, graduating from 35mm SLR. Since the actual film images are situated portrait (with camera upright) and the viewfinder is viewed as landscape, how far off center may I compose my models within the finder? Like how much of the left and right rides of the finder won't be on the film? 1/4 of each? 1/3? Etc. Thanks!

09-08-2017, 11:05 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by nathanduncanphoto Quote
Specifically, I have the original 645. And I'm new to mf, graduating from 35mm SLR. Since the actual film images are situated portrait (with camera upright) and the viewfinder is viewed as landscape, how far off center may I compose my models within the finder? Like how much of the left and right rides of the finder won't be on the film? 1/4 of each? 1/3? Etc. Thanks!
The film sees more than the viewfinder, so everything in the viewfinder will be captured, and then some. The viewfinder coverage is 92% vertically and 93% horizontally.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-09-2017, 12:54 AM   #3

Original Poster
I've read the 92% & 93%, but I can't figure how that factors into a more horizontal vf and a more vertical exposure. Confusion....
09-09-2017, 01:58 AM   #4