Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2017, 02:55 AM   #1

P645 bent screen

Hey!

I just today got my first P645 camera and really excited! This is my first medium format camera so I am just learning. Of course ordered from Japan
What does it mean that screen is bent ( it was mentioned in the description and my bad that I did not press attention on that) ? I am not sure but I think I can see that bent in the viewfinder ( if I am correct ). It is like half a circle in darker colour. I have attched a few photos. Does it affect photos?

Many thanks!

---------- Post added 09-22-17 at 03:17 AM ----------

Also in the first attched photo there is visible two black dots which I can not see on the mirror. Somewhere inside?
Sorry for stupid questions...

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
IPhone SE  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
IPhone SE  Photo 
09-22-2017, 03:35 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Hi, Mada. AFAIK, the 'bent' screen will not directly impinge on the photographs, since it is not in the light path when the image is taken. However, depending on how bad it is, it 'may' affect focusing - you'll have to test it and see. I am unfamiliar with this model, but if replacement screens are available it may be worth seeking a replacement.

I know on my old Bronica the screens were interchangeable, but unfortunately that camera was not fireproof ...
09-22-2017, 03:51 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The focusing screen sits just above your mirror. If the bend or dent is bad enough, it could affect your ability to focus critically. The only way to know, is to run a test at your largest aperture (f/2.8-3.5) in a sequence where you think it's perfect, then intentionally slightly front focus, and then back focus. Another test would be seeing if infinity looks sharp at infinity. When you get your negs back, use a light table and a medium format loupe (4x) although any magnifier will work.