Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
11-16-2017, 01:14 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
TLR woes

Just for back scans from my first 2 rolls of 120 film. Camera is a Yashica-A TLR I bought for fairly cheap and immediately got serviced. Very disappointing. Do I need to take it back to the shop? Not sure what they could do if the lens is all shot to hell. Any thoughts?

11-16-2017, 01:41 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Yipes!

This looks like the effects of a flipped lens element. Is there a chance someone took apart the lens and reassembled it with one of the elements reversed?
11-16-2017, 01:44 PM - 1 Like   #3

Photos: Gallery
A lot of shooters are going for that look these days... Were you shooting wide open? In any case, I don't think there's anything wrong with your camera, but I am no expert on this model. It was a basic consumer model from the 50s. I found some sample images from that camera, and some resemble what you have here. Yashica-A – Sample-Image.com
11-16-2017, 01:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Make sure the rear element is fully screwed in. I had that happen once to a recently serviced camera and it caused all kinds of wonky focus issues. But yes, definitely either have it serviced again (locally?) or return it, though I do like the effect and think it could be an awesome portrait camera...

11-16-2017, 02:58 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by emergo Quote
A lot of shooters are going for that look these days... Were you shooting wide open? In any case, I don't think there's anything wrong with your camera, but I am no expert on this model. It was a basic consumer model from the 50s. I found some sample images from that camera, and some resemble what you have here. Yashica-A – Sample-Image.com