Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2018, 05:25 PM   #1

Focusing issue with Pentax 645N

Hello, I'm a newbie to shooting pictures with a Pentax film camera--and so far, I love it, and am happy that it is my first medium format camera. It is really fun to shoot pictures with it.
Today I got my first roll of film processed and discovered that some pictures are a bit out of focus. And since I know that my 75mm manual focus lens is (apparently) pretty sharp, I should assume I'm just not experienced with focusing with this camera.
Here is the issue--with other film SLRs or RFs that I've used before, there was a sort of line or 'box' in the middle of the viewfinder that basicaly tells me if I'm perfectly in focus. But for Pentax 645N, there's only a circle in the middle of the viewfinder, and I find that it is rather for framing, not focusing, and in order to focus, I need to 'eye-ball' it.
I've been googling for a while to learn what I need to do, and apparently there is an adjustable diopter which I found on my camera, but have no idea how to use it. I even went to Ken Rockwell's website and he says for manual focus "Look at the screen, or look for the in-focus dot at the bottom. Slide the power switch to the middle position, and the beeper goes off when you're in focus" and I don't see any dot or hear any beep at all.
Please help this newbie out...
Thank you for reading.

02-02-2018, 11:31 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
For the viewfinder diopter: In good light focus manually as usual with the lens. Then slowly change the diopter while looking thru the view finder. The view finder will eventually get worse, so then change it back the other direction. Somewhere you will find it looks sharpest to your shooting eye. Once that is set, there is no need to change it unless your eyesight or vision changes in a few years.