Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2018, 12:17 PM   #1

Pentax 67 vs Hasselblad 500cm reliability-wise

Hi all,

I’ve been a resident on the film SLR sub-forum for the past few months. It was only a matter of time before I visited this sub-forum I’m curious about going for a medium format setup in addition to my 35mm system.

I’ve seen some threads discuss Pentax vs Hasselblad. I’m aware of the square vs nonsquare and the form factor differences. I’m mostly interested to hear people’s take on reliability. With the Pentax system I’d worry about the need for a battery to operate the camera. This is only amplified by my recently CLAed ME just dying out of nowhere
What are people’s experiences with the P67 in terms of long term reliability? And for those of you who own a Hassy please comment on that aspect if you can.

Many thanks for any input,
Ed

11-20-2018, 01:20 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Which version of the P6x7 are you looking at and are you going to use the TTL/AE meter prism or a hand held meter?

Phil.
11-20-2018, 01:33 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hey Phil,

I’d be looking at the second version (Pentax 67). I’m neutral about the TTL prism; I can work with my Sekonic just fine.
11-20-2018, 01:59 PM   #4
Unregistered User

Both bodies are reliable workhorses, bear in mind that the Hasselblad lenses may need periodic attention to the leaf shutters for accurate exposures.
Don't turn the film advance roller backwards on the 67.

Either is probably 20+years old, bear that in mind, especially if they have been used heavily by professionals.

11-20-2018, 02:00 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Ediz7531 Quote
Hey Phil,

I’d be looking at the second version (Pentax 67). I’m neutral about the TTL prism; I can work with my Sekonic just fine.