Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2019, 10:23 AM   #1

Pentax FA 645 lenses with hard stop at infinity?

Hello, I'm a newbie here and I have a specific need for lenses that have a hard stop at infinity, meaning lenses that are properly focused at infinity when the infinity symbol is aligned with the focus distance mark at the end of focus ring rotation. This was always the case with my Leica M lenses and older Pentax SLR manual focus lenses. It also appears to be true for manual focus Pentax 645 lenses. Do any of the 645 FA lenses hard stop correctly at infinity? If you've worked with one that does or does not, I would greatly appreciate your observations.

If I've missed something in the database that has this information, or if someone knows of an external resource about this, please let me know. Thanks for your help!

01-29-2019, 03:16 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I've just checked a few of mine and they do go slightly beyond the infinity mark....which seems to be the norm for AF lenses. Based on my greater knowledge of Canon's AF lenses then this allows for thermal expansion and continuous AF which requires movement marginally beyond the target distance.

Bob
01-29-2019, 09:25 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks, Bob. I'm beginning to suspect that most if not all of the FA lenses move beyond infinity. As you mentioned, this is probably to compensate for the thermal expansion, and in my understanding this is done when lower quality materials are used in the lens (many manufacturers do this). However, I hadn't thought about the continuous AF factor. In any case, I might need to use manual focus lenses only for my application, which is fine because I appreciate the high build quality of Pentax's older 645 lenses. Still, if anyone finds a FA lens that does hard stop at infinity, please let me know. Thanks again.
01-29-2019, 06:56 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery