Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
02-11-2019, 04:38 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I don't look at it as investing in a system and worrying about resale values. I buy cameras to shoot with, to do that I might need various lenses and other accessories, if I can justify the expense I'll buy them. Sometimes I buy something that doesn't work for me and I might trade it for something else.

I'm an amateur and have no expectations to make cash from the camera - or how much it might be worth in the future (I'm more concerned that it continues to work). Pro's have a different outlook about gear, but resale is likely to be a low priority as the more they use a camera, the more money they make from it (if they're good enough).

I bought my D used, my P6x7 lenses used, the few FA 645 lenses I have used - Pentax have made nothing out of my purchases apart from keeping me interested in the brand and my minute contribution by shooting their gear out in the wild.

02-11-2019, 07:28 AM   #17
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by johnha Quote

I bought my D used, my P6x7 lenses used, the few FA 645 lenses I have used - Pentax have made nothing out of my purchases apart from keeping me interested in the brand and my minute contribution by shooting their gear out in the wild.
I would suggest your purchase of used equipment may have allowed the seller to purchase new Pentax gear. I think that is more of a contribution to Pentax than you realize.
02-11-2019, 09:09 AM - 1 Like   #18
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums