Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2020, 07:56 AM   #1
Forum Member

645n & hss?

I have been using a 645N and AF500FTZ for a few months, and am very limited by the 1/60 sync speed. I have an AF500FTZ flash unit, that is not capable of HSS. Is there any flash unit that will do HSS, and communicate as much to my 645N. I have looked at both the AF360FGZ and AF540FGZ; both do HSS. I cannot determine if either will do HSS on my 645N. Thanks.

04-12-2020, 08:40 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

645n & hss?

I don’t believe so. I have the top flash in Pentax’s lineup for the NII (I don’t recall the model designation, but I think it’s the same one you mentioned), and as you say it does not provide it.

But with the N, you have a few lenses with leaf shutters, and these will sync up to 1/500.

I have the 75LS just for that purpose from back when the 645N and NII was my gig camera.

Rick “who admittedly rarely used fill flash, preferring reflector scrims for outdoor portraits” Denney
04-12-2020, 08:41 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think not. HSS belongs to the P-TTL era, which was introduced along with the digital camera bodies. The Pentax 645N and NII are film cameras with the old style TTL, which measures the light that is reflected from the film during exposure. P-TTL works in a different manner and relies on pre-flashes from the flash units. The Pentax 645N and NII are not P-TTL capable.
04-12-2020, 09:06 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thank you, LaHo and rdenney. I assumed P-TTL and TTL were two different things. At least I know 'why' the newer flashes won't work. And I'll have a good look at the leaf-shutter lenses. Thanks again.

04-12-2020, 09:15 AM   #5
Pentaxian

on the review page …. Accepts leaf shutter lens for flash synchronization to 1/500s. would imagine with the 500ftz or other flashes