Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-25-2020, 10:25 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Travel tripod for 645n - good for backpack, not too expensive?

I'd like to get a tripod to use with my Pentax 645n, one that takes quick release plates. I want it to be light weight so I can carry it with my backpack of lenses with the 645n in the field. Also not really expensive (in my mind, <$200). I've used a Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 aluminum tripod for several decades which is great, but heavier than I want (7.4 lbs with the head) and not quick release. I'm an amateur hobbyist. Any suggestions?

04-25-2020, 01:41 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
This is a really good question but a conundrum. You can lose weight going with carbon fiber, but that's going to be over $200. You want a substantial head to hold the 645N, but then that's going to add weight.
I've only once had a quick release plate fail and destroyed a lens and camera in the fall. That quick release was a light weight plastic foot.
And yes, you can always hook a back pack to add weight and stability to a hook on the center column, but then thinner legs or a smaller ball head are still going to be mismatched with a 645 and the considerable weight of the lenses as well.

I can offer solutions if you can spend probably double your max of $200.
04-25-2020, 02:21 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

There are Sirui tripods that are near two pounds in weight that you may want to look at. A shortcut to one is below. There is the T-005SK aluminum version, but it is rated at 2 pounds less weight capacity than the T-025SK. I am not sure if the 645N and your lens are light enough for one of the tripods, but the specs are mentioned on each listing at B and H.

Some of the carbon fiber version specs are:

Key Features
Load Capacity: 13.2 lb
Maximum Height: 53.8"
Minimum Height: 3.1"
Folded Length: 12.2"