Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-11-2020, 11:18 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Pentax 645z doesn't turn off

Hi,

I have been using my 645z for last four years without any issues until recently. I turned my camera off after taking few photos off only to realize that it turned On after a minute or so later itself. The button is still Off but I can browse through whole menu and even click the shutter. I did factory reset, pulled the battery out but to no avail.

I even downloaded the latest firmware but it is not helping. As the camera is no longer in warranty I think I need to send it to service center for a look.

Has any of the guys happened to have such problem with their 645z. Any suggestions / ideas will be helpful.

Regards

09-11-2020, 11:34 PM   #2

That’s a first one for me too. Sorry that I cannot help and I hope someone can.
09-11-2020, 11:48 PM   #3
Pentaxian

The mechanical on-off switch should be breaking a circuit. It must be in there.
09-12-2020, 06:02 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Hi,

I don't think the power switch actually interrupts power. Most things these days have a line from the Off position to the controller asking for an ordered shutdown. Same with the On position, where it asks for an ordered power up. If so, this would mean a main board replacement rather than a much simpler switch....

Of course, it still might be that the switch is no longer asking for a power down. Let's hope it is just the switch as that would be a whole lot cheaper.

Stan

09-12-2020, 09:21 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by maxloxton Quote
Hi,