Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-04-2020, 10:38 AM   #1

Medium Format Film

Hi people
I am new to this hobby and have slowly been getting more serious about acquiring photography related products.
I have bought some vintage lenses to play around with, then my father in law who had a lot of photography equipment gave me his old collection of cameras.
Amongst these was a Praktisix 11, looks a beast I can't wait to try shooting film to test this out.
I've been looking on ebay for medium format film and most of what I have seen says expired and its anything from a few years to many years.
Hoping some experienced people on here can advise on whether on what the situation is with expired film.
It's daunting enough the thought of film camera to a novice without that extra worry.
Any tips would be most welcome thank you.
Shane

11-04-2020, 10:48 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Shaneuk Quote
Any tips would be most welcome thank you.
There are better online sources for fresh film than eBay. Google provided a couple of resources that might be worth looking into:

Analogue Wonderland | Buy Film Online | 35mm, 120, Kodak, Ilford +more

Lightbox Darkroom - Where to buy film in the UK

I have personally dealt with Maco Direct, though I don't know how things are for purchases from the UK now with Brexit and all.

Large choice of analogue films on macodirect | macodirect EN

Steve
11-04-2020, 10:55 AM   #3
Pentaxian

You need to speciffy what you're looking for: B&W, colour negative, slide.
In all cases, options are again increasing. Not cheap, but dependable
11-04-2020, 10:55 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thank you Steve I will follow your suggestions

11-04-2020, 10:55 AM   #5
Pentaxian