Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
04-30-2021, 09:20 AM   #1

Pentax 6x7 mirror not going all the way up

Hi there!

I have a Pentax 6x7 MLU (413xxx) that seems to fire correctly at all speeds (at least, 1s and 1/2s
feel accurate).
The body is in pretty great shape so I don't think it's been abused.

There's one major mirror issue with it and it doesn't seem to be the usual contact solenoid cleaning issue.

The mirror doesn't go all the way up without a little help (either when firing normally, or with the MLU slide).
It stops a 3mm shy of the closed position.
It needs either a push, or gravity's help (shooting towards the ceiling, or down. Shooting portrait works 100% of the time too).

Once in up position, everything else is fine, the camera fires and the mirror slams back down vigorously.

I studied the service manual a little bit. I don't pretend to understand how that camera works,
but the only thing I can think of is a weak flip up spiral spring (coupled to mirror actuator disk).

Would lubing axle pins help too?

Or am I completely off track?

All the feedback/help is appreciated.

Thanks

04-30-2021, 10:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
A camera the age of a Pentax 6x7 is likely due for a CLA.
04-30-2021, 12:32 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by DonV Quote
A camera the age of a Pentax 6x7 is likely due for a CLA.
You're right, just trying to understand the extent of the work that's going to be needed.
04-30-2021, 09:22 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Repairs probably start at $200, if that is the information you are looking for.

04-30-2021, 09:56 PM   #5
Pentaxian