Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2021, 07:37 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Is Pentax done in Medium Format?

I've been shooting with the Pentax 645D, then the 645Z exclusively since 2012, but I'm looking very hard at the Fuji GFX 100S for the extra MP, better wide angle options, smaller footprint, and the likelihood of continuing to upgrade their MF mirrorless camera systems. And YES I print very large, sometimes 10'+ and I'm a professional landscape photographer, so it makes sense for me.

Before divorcing all my Pentax camera gear, are we all pretty sure Pentax is done with upgrading their medium format cameras? It would be a shame, because they make some excellent lenses and user-friendly cameras.

08-16-2021, 07:57 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It is hard to say what the future holds for the 645Z, but it is not looking promising. It must be getting hard to justify sticking with a six year old camera. By keeping quiet, Ricoh is not helping.

In your case, it would be worth renting a GFX 100S for a project to see what it brings to the table.

You don't have to switch your lenses over all once if you decide to to take the plunge. Just get one of these bad boys:

Pro Adapter - Pentax 645 Lenses to Fujifilm G-Mount Digital Cameras ? Fotodiox, Inc. USA
08-16-2021, 08:15 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Considering there is now a worldwide chip shortage that is getting worse, we may not see much new anything from anybody for a couple years as cars and cellphones and a million other products will probably take precedence...
08-16-2021, 08:37 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Ryan Tischer Quote
Is Pentax done in Medium Format?
If I remember correctly , you were already looking for higher than 50Mpixels resolution a couple years back because you make big prints and sell them.