Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-26-2021, 02:14 PM   #1

Best autofocus settings for Pentax 645z

I'm a new wedding photographer and have also done a decent amount of wildlife photography with my Pentax 645z. I'm in love with the camera but sometimes struggle to get the focus to lock. A few times at weddings I've had couples pose, the focus give me a beep but then the shutter won't go off for a few seconds. Other times when I look through my cameras I'll find that seemingly *nothing* was fully in focus (I use spot autofocus in the center of the frame)

Am I doing something wrong? I do stay in focus-priority so I know that will cause some delay but it appears I'm sometimes getting the focus and the shutter won't go, or the center of the frame isn't in focus at all at other times.

Just looking for the best settings that work for you all!

09-26-2021, 03:40 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Hmmm....I have not had this problem, but I'm not sure I have the camera in focus priority either. basically, I get a pretty swift focus confirmation with all of my lenses, in AF and manual, and in all but ridiculously dark situations (by that I mean pre dawn with effectively no light at all.).

My settings are pretty vanilla, and I haven't changed them because I've never had to. OTOH, I also shoot mostly stopped down, which you probably are not doing. I'd make sure all of your lenses have been tested and adjusted for front/back focus, BTW.
09-27-2021, 05:51 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I suppose it depends on the shot you are trying to take and lens you choose - Group shots (the whole wedding party) vs portrait (mother of bride...) vs married couples.
Make a shot list - with a checklist of what needs to be set with what lens.

Go do some practice runs - get some volunteers ;-)