Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2022, 07:34 AM - 1 Like   #1

What's the longest shutter speed you use with Pentax 645z freehand?

Hi,

I've been using Pentax 67 for 20 years, (unfortunately) I am considering the purchase of my first digital camera and I'm also considering Pentax 645Z because it's an (quite) affordable MF camera with OVF (since I like OVF, the only alternative would probably be some FF as Nikon D850 - if I don't miss something).

All the matter is quite complicated, but I would like to ask who of you use the Pentax 645z a simple question: what's the longest shutter speed you use with this Pentax 645z freehand (55mm lens, ambient light) without any traces of (micro) motion blur, even at a 100% magnification?

The longest shutter speed I can use Pentax 67 + 90mm lens (same conditions as above) is 1/30 in case I raise up the mirror before the shot - as I usually do every time I need. The longest shutter speed I can use Nikon D850 is 1/250, perhaps 1/125. This is also because of the 3 stops difference between Pentax 67 and Nikon d850, that I would really like to know what's your experience with Pentax 645z.

What's more, is this shutter speed even longer in case you raise up the mirror of the Pentax 645z before the shot? Does it make a difference?

Thank you,

Enrico

06-20-2022, 07:39 AM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi Enrico, there is a very good in-depth review of 645Z linked below for you. I think it will answer most of your questions.

Pentax 645Z Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews
06-20-2022, 08:14 AM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by enricob Quote
Hi,