Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
4 Days Ago - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
What is the "crop factor" of the 645Z

I've been shooting Pentax since 1976 and think focal lengths in the 35mm format. Still not used to APS-C conversions, but getting there. I purchased a 645Z the other day and now need some new lenses. To help me decide what to get, it would be helpful to know the crop factor for the 645Z. There are various numbers running around, which vary widely from each other. Can someone point me to the accurate conversion number?

(The one number I've been using is 0.62075, but nobody else seems to be using that number. 0.62075 translates the 75mm "normal" to be 46.5 in the 35mm world.)

Thanks for any help. I've gone from 35mm to APS-C to the Q. About time to go experiment the other way and try medium format.

4 Days Ago - 4 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

One of the hurdles is that they have different aspect ratios, the cropped 645 is 44x33mm and 35mm is 35.9x 24mm. How many come up with for crop factor is by using the diagonal dimension .

cropped 645 55mm and 35mm as 43.18

43.18/55=0.785 crop factor
If you are going to use the full width let's say your final image is 16 by 9 aspect, then 35.9/44= 0.815 crop factor
4 Days Ago - 2 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The crop factor of the 645Z relative to the K-1 is 0.78

The FA645 75/2.8 gives a similar angle of view on the 645Z as a 58mm lens would on the K-1, whereas the DFA645 55/2.8 equates roughly to 43mm as Ian points out above

Last edited by Sandy Hancock; 4 Days Ago at 11:55 PM.
4 Days Ago   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster