Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Banned

6x7 lens questions

I just purchased an un metered 6x7 (I plan on getting a metered prism) I have wanted one of these for the longest time! I have never used MF before, and I'm just curious about lenses. I think It will mostly get used for portraits, maybe occasional landscape work. for anyone who does or has used MF cameras particularly the 6x7 what would you suggest for a good all around lens? I do not want to have more than one or two (at least for the time being) so I want a good lens that can pull a little double duty, though im putting priority on portraits. im also curious as to the different lens series. I assume the Takumars will be what I expect from the 35mm lenses, so should I be pursuing a Takumar or a newer lens? and what limitations if any will I ener using a newer 67 lens on my body? thanks for any help, as I really need it.

12-27-2008, 07:55 PM   #2
Pentaxian

If you want a good all rounder for that camera, look at the 105/2.5. It's very sharp and as fast as it gets on the 6x7, will do OK for portraits (you will want to crop a bit), and will be fine for a lot of outdoor work as well.
If you really want a nice "portrait lens", I don't think you can beat the 165/2.8, with the 165/4LS not far behind.
I also had very good results from the 135/4 Macro lens. It did really well as a long normal, a macro (though only 1:2 on it's own) and surprisingly, it did well as a portrait lens, although I did buy a set of Soft F/X for this.
The old Takumars are just fine, the newer SMC lenses are better, but I don't know if they are better by an important enough amount or not.
12-27-2008, 08:28 PM   #3
Site Supporter