Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2009, 07:51 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
DOF for 6 x 7 on Crop Sensor

I recently began shooting some 67 lenses on my K20d. One of the things which strikes me most about this setup, is depth of field seems shallower than normal--compared with regular lenses on my K20.

I should state I never shot 6 x 7 before this experiment. So I have no prior knowledge upon which to compare my current observations. This brought me to post my first thread in this section of the forum. I have come here for knowledge. Here are my questions.

Is it possible shallow DOF is inherent in 6 x 7 lens design? Also, is it possible that DOF is shallower on 6 x 7 systems in general? If so, would using 6 x 7 lenses on my K20d crop sensor make the DOF even shallower, or would it be about the same?

I am just curious if this is a real or perceived phenomenon. So far I really like the few images I have shot with 6 x 7 on the K20. I'm sure I will learn more as I shoot with the 67 lenses, but was hoping to get a headstart by picking the 67 brains in this forum first. Thanks.

03-22-2009, 11:51 AM   #2
D W
Veteran Member

A 300mm lens would give shallower DOF that a noraml 50 or 40mm lens.

Try the DA300, FA300(35mm) FA300(645) M300(67) on your KxxD and amazingly they all give the same DOF. If there is a way of mounting my 300 Sironar onto my K20D it will give the same DOF at the same f setting.

It is just law of physics (Light and optics)
03-22-2009, 12:12 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
One of the most difficult transitions for me converting from 35mm to 6x7 about ten years ago was the loss of DOF. 6x7 has approximately half the DOF of 35mm and then less than that vs the crop factor sensors. So an f.4 6x7 lens has about the same DOF as an f.2.8 lens on 35mm and nearly the same DOF as an f.2 lens on the K20D sensor.