Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2009, 12:44 AM   #1
Veteran Member

What "outdoors" film?

What outdoors film should I use? For type, I'm thinking negatives - I've read that they are more "forgiving" and I'm new to film, so probably should stick to that for now. Then, I'm thinking what brand and model. I've shot 3 rolls of Portra 160, don't know about results yet. I'm trying to find a low-ISO film, so far the lowest I've seen is 160. Any pointers here? From your experience, what negative film is the "best" for outdoors (in terms of saturation, color, etc)?

07-05-2009, 10:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by pbo Quote
What outdoors film should I use? For type, I'm thinking negatives - I've read that they are more "forgiving" and I'm new to film, so probably should stick to that for now. Then, I'm thinking what brand and model. I've shot 3 rolls of Portra 160, don't know about results yet. I'm trying to find a low-ISO film, so far the lowest I've seen is 160. Any pointers here? From your experience, what negative film is the "best" for outdoors (in terms of saturation, color, etc)?
Your thinking is correct -- C41 (negative) is much more forgiving of exposure errors than E6 (slide).

IMHO the less contrasty C41 films (Kodak Portra 160NC, Fuji 160S) work fine outdoors; you can increase saturation and contrast post-scan as desired.

For slower, more contrasty medium-format C41 film try Kodak Ektar 100 (a little hard to find in 120) or perhaps Fuji Reala (quite hard to find in 120, but more reliable with skin tones).

E6 is nice if you want to test your metering, or if you want to directly view the whole roll and scan or print only a few exposures -- I'd suggest Fuji Provia 100 to start.
07-05-2009, 01:46 PM   #3
Site Supporter