Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2009, 07:58 AM   #1
Mattferrit

Pentax 67, first shots.

I've recently completed a project with my newly aquired Pentax 67 with the aim to explore the potential of night photography within the Cornish landscape where I live. The negatives have been scanned in and there is no digital manipulation apart from cleaning up dust and dirt.

I'm very new to the world of the 67, having used a Mamiya RB67 and RZ67 I felt this was a very nice format to work with, further research into 67 formats lead me to the Pentax 67 and 67ii, the supposed 'more hand-holdable' variety of 67 cameras. It was soon after that I bought my own 67.

I would love to get some feedback on the following images, please leave your thoughts and comments, i'm very keen to know how my images stand within the 67 community.

07-12-2009, 03:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I like your ability to see and capture mood in your images. Metering on the fence in the mist shot is nice--very easy to blow out the highlights on that. Color film at night makes for nice surreal colors esp. in the cart shot. It appears that you will be having a very good time with 67 format!
07-12-2009, 04:43 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
The second is just amazing! the light is quite rare but perfect!
What lenses are you using?
07-13-2009, 11:24 AM   #4
Mattferrit

Thanks for the comments, i'm using a Super Takumar 75mm f/4.5, I find that it gives me very sharp results and also very contrasted results, especially with black and white. My cash flow isn't exactly great at the moment so i can't really afford to spend out loads on gear, but I find that the 75mm is a nice lens to use, very good for landscapes and also portraiture too.

Matt.

07-13-2009, 04:11 PM   #5

Very nice. Interesting color effects with the streetlighting. If you don't mind, what film are you using? Exposure times?
07-15-2009, 12:07 PM   #6
Mattferrit