Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-22-2009, 10:18 AM   #1

k100d upgrade path - K20 or Medium Format? Help~

I have been shooting for a couple of years with my Pentax k100d taken a ton of pictures and recently started taking some more formal “art” focused photography classes. I am at the point with the k100d that I feel I have progressed to the in my skill to where the poor low light performance and the low megapixel rating is hampering my ability to make large prints and drive the detail out in my work that I know could be there with an upgraded system.

I do love shooting digital – the workflow is easy and the results are immediate but there is a big difference between taking pictures and making art. I want to make art.

I want to focus mostly on my portrait work, natural light, and outdoor scene shooting.

My choices as I see it are to upgrade to a k20 or the new K-7(a bit too spendy and more "wiz bang" than i need i think) or...
Look at a medium format film camera.

I don’t have a ton of money to outlay on this so I am really leaning towards the k20 or the medium format.

It seems crazy to me to think in this day and age of going with film but after seeing the prints several of my classmates have made with medium formats like the 67II (think its out of my price range though) I must say I am very compelled.

I do live in the Minneapolis area so being in a large city processing will be easy for me.

Anyone been faced with a similar choice? Drivers to consider?

How easy is it to take medium format film into a digital workflow?

How does the process of dealing with film and “weak link” of scanning compare with a 14 megapixel digitally originated image? Printing from scan vs printing from neg etc...

Also looking for model suggestions for someone starting in the film space... Pentax medium format cameras in the sub $800 range with basic lens setups Pentax 67/645... other?