Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-29-2009, 06:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is the 645 hard to focus for a blind old guy?

So I'm thinking about taking the leap into a medium format camera. I am wondering if you all can give me some insight on how the manual focus is with these cameras. I have been thinking about a Pentax 645. I develop my own black and white film so as far as developing that shouldn't be a problem and I have a scanner that can handle both 220 and 120 film. I will have to figure out how to develop color if I go in that direction. I have been looking on ebay recently and am just about ready to pull the trigger on this. But the thing that is holding my back is my eyes not focusing really well. Is there anything on the 645 that would help me focus accurately? I have been shooting with a K20D for about 2 years and that is totally in manual mode other than the auto focus. I would greatly appreciate your alls input on this. Also what would you all suggest for the back, a 120 or 220 and what about lenses. I have seen quite a few auctions with either a 45mm or 75 mm lens.

Thanks
Jim

09-29-2009, 08:16 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
You should not have a problem with the 645. It has a dipoter and a great screen; I used them for years. I had all of the lenses at one point in time and the 45 2.8 is superb as well as the 75mm. Backs are cheap..buy both.

I have K20D's, but I do miss the 645.
09-29-2009, 09:56 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I can throw in 2-cents in on developing your own color. It is not too hard. Much the same as BW except the temperature and the shelf life that sucks. You can get something like the Jobo or Unicolor C-41 press kit from freestyle.biz. It contains all you need. You can process it with a tank like your BW if you do it that way.