Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
first 645 roll shot, now what

Hi, I have an embarrassing question: I shot my first 120 roll at the 645, and then realised I do not know how to package it. How do you send these to a developer (which is not local, so mail must be used)? With 35mm film, I always had a few of these plastic film boxes, but how do you keep shot 120 film safe?

I only gradually realised, btw, that the aspect of 4:3 of the 645 is different from 35mm film. I think I like it better (I enjoyed looking through the viewfinder, needed little excuse for that) but I will have to see that in the long run.

03-07-2010, 11:41 AM   #2
Forum Member

I tend to drop them in ziplock bags and hand them off locally, but a padded envelope would probably be sufficient protection.

So long as the paper backing is wrapped tight and the tag end is stuck down there shouldn't be any light leaks. Putting it inside a ziplock inside a padded envelope might help with keeping dust down.

The 645 aspect ratio makes for almost no cropping on 8.5x11s and 11x14's,and 16x20's-- common paper sizes nowadays. I can frame tighter than with 35mm (though 35mm works really well with 11x17 with minimal cropping).
03-07-2010, 12:10 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks, I suppose it's rolled up tightly enough indeed (it did seem tidy, but then again, in 35mm film there's a metal case so you don't see how it's rolled up).

Good suggestion for keeping dust out of it, thanks - that may be very helpful in certain locations.
03-07-2010, 03:52 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
For color neg I find a minilab - latest find is in Hoboken NJ - to develop and maybe scan. To send to Dwayne's I ususally just stick it in the padded envelope with the paperwork.

03-08-2010, 01:52 PM   #5
Site Supporter