Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
02-17-2014, 12:04 AM - 4 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photography Field Report: 3 Weeks in Israel, Palestine, and Jordan, January 2014

I recently spent 3 weeks in Israel, Palestine, and Jordan. I am a seminary professor, and I was leading a group of 43 people. Everyone was church-connected in some way, and the focus of our trip was on biblical sites and also on experiencing some of the culture of these places.

In June 2012 I had spent a month on my own in Israel (photography report here), and I had also led a group in 2007, so I had some ideas about what I wanted to accomplish photographically. I'm writing this report both for myself and for anyone else planning on a similar kind of trip.
SOME CONSIDERATIONS
  • January is rainy season in Israel. For that reason I was glad to have a K-30 and the DA 18-135 as my WR kit. Fortunately, for the whole trip, we only had about 5 minutes of a very light mist, but I was ready for rain!
  • On a tour, there usually is not time to dawdle or fuss about to get the perfect picture. As a leader, I also could not afford to be discourteous to the group and make them wait ever. In the past, I found that I just did not have much time even to switch lenses, so I wanted a good, all-purpose, walkaround lens. Additionally, I decided to bring along 2 camera bodies, both so that I wouldn't need to change lenses and also as a backup.
  • For other considerations, I have a two-part blog entry on "Picture Taking Tips on Biblical Site Tours." They cover a lot of other things I think are important from a practical (what gear?) and etiquette perspective. PART 1 - PART 2

Sea of Galilee
: K-30, DA 18-135, ISO 100, 24mm, f8 1/800

So, here's what I ended up bringing:

CAMERAS