Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2010, 02:22 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Beginners question about video settings

I am tring to take a video in the house and as soon as I start recording the video looks so dark.. There is lots of light in the house but on the video it is very dark.. video is perfect if i take it outside.. Can somebody please help me and tell me what i need to do/
Just so you know, i have very little experience with this camera so if you can help me with lots of details i would really appreciate it!!! Thank you!!!!!!

05-03-2010, 02:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Do you have the aperture control set to fixed or auto? If it is on fixed, you can either adjust aperture yourself with the wheel or set it to auto via the menu. (Assuming you are using a K-x)
05-03-2010, 03:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If there are red numbers for the aperture, open up the aperture more. If they are white, use exposure compensation.

If you can't open it up more, you need a faster lens.
05-03-2010, 03:31 PM   #4
hcc
Pentaxian

I would ask similarly: what camera? what lens? what settings?

Indoor, your need often to use a large aperture or high ISO to compensate for the lack of lights. Your eyes may think that the house is bright but the human eye is much more sensitive than any camera sensor.

05-03-2010, 04:27 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Agree with above comments.

Also I have read quite a number of posts (and in a couple of reviews) that say the K-x is on auto ISO on in video mode but limits maximum sensitivity (ISO setting) to a lower setting than is available with still images. Worth searching on - there have been a few tests done although have not tried much low light shooting myself yet. There is probably a good technical reason (possibly to do with video frame rate versus noise reduction time?) for this but I'm not sure what the limit is.