Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2010, 07:13 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Advice

Hello,

I'm new to dslr photography and plan on purchasing a k-x early next month in time for my New York vacation. After spending many hours reading up on the k-x I have some questions however. I was wondering the following (more opinions than facts):

1. Many people suggest to stick with the kit lens until I find out what I like to shoot; then get additional lenses to suit those needs. Is this better than getting the kit with the 50-200mm as well as the kit lens

2. What is a good compact bag that looks good, holds the camera with kit lens, and other essentials, for a beginner like myself to carry around a city?

3. Should I purchase a UV filter to protect my lens? If so what kind?

4. Is a lens hood essential?

5. What is a cheap tripod that is sturdy enough for seldom use?

6. Are there any other accessories you would recommend among purchase of my camera?

7. Any books to read before I purchase my camera to get a better understating of Aperture, Shutter Speed, Exposure, ISO, etc...?

Sorry for all the questions. I am very anxious about getting my camera and want to learn everything I can before that day.

Thank you in advanced for the replies

05-05-2010, 07:29 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Chriswirth930 Quote
Hello,

I'm new to dslr photography and plan on purchasing a k-x early next month in time for my New York vacation. After spending many hours reading up on the k-x I have some questions however. I was wondering the following (more opinions than facts):

1. Many people suggest to stick with the kit lens until I find out what I like to shoot; then get additional lenses to suit those needs. Is this better than getting the kit with the 50-200mm as well as the kit lens