Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-06-2010, 06:53 AM   #1
Veteran Member

UV Filter - Or Not!

What is your opinion on using these filters?
Degradation versus protection?
Any other positive reasons to use them - such as improved contrast in strong sun?

05-06-2010, 07:31 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With out even searching this site, I'm sure there are existing threads on this subject. I've gone round and round on this and have read as much as I can but I still don't have a definative answer. Personally, now all my UV filters are off my lenses with the exception of some of my really old ones. Before I studied this, all my lenses had UV filters on them. So I guess I'm voting for no UV filters, but I'm still not convinced either way.

This is a hold over from film cameras - or so I've read - and was more important when the lens coatings were not as hard or good as they are today. But I still feel naked with out one on my lens...even though I do get the point that when I pay good money for good glass in a lens then slap a cheap UV filter in front of all of that doesn't make a lot of sense to me, any more.

I'm sure others will chime in here with different opinions and views.
05-06-2010, 07:45 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Filters can protect your lens and degradate your pictures.
Degradation all very much depends upon the quality of the filter.

Read this very interesting test: UV filters test - Introduction - Lenstip.com

You should note that adding an extra glass element to a lens will allways influence the image result, no matter how good the filter is.

Since I did damaged an expensive DA* lens, despite the mounted hood, I bought pro rated filters for my best lenses....

- Bert
05-06-2010, 08:14 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by stevewig Quote
Any other positive reasons to use them - such as improved contrast in strong sun?