Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-07-2010, 08:38 PM   #1

setting custom white balance

I am new to using a DSLR and a bit confused how to use and set the custom white balance. Can anyone provide some basic explanation of how to use the custom function? Or point me to a good web source for learning how to do this? I don't find the manual as helpful as I would like! Thanks in advance!

05-07-2010, 09:35 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Go through the menu to the custom WB setting. Fill the frame with a white or gray paper or card and take the shot. The camera will use that to determine the WB adjustment.

If you shoot RAW, you can change nearly all the processing settings, except ISO, later to suit the image.
05-07-2010, 10:05 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow, I can see why you're confused. It looks like 4 simple steps in the manual, but doesn't even explain where to point the camera at first.

First, some concepts. Your eyes adjust to most light sources and you don't really notice their color differences. The camera can't do that normally. It has a setting for Auto White Balance, AWB. This is generally fine for outdoor daylight and flash use. It doesn't work as well indoors, because indoor lighting can have strong colors outside of its range. That's what the chart on page 182 is trying to say. The most likely offender is tungsten light. The AWB system works best in the 4000K to 8000K range and tungsten is well outside that at 2850K. (I explain why below, just accept that for now.) You can take a test photo under tungsten light to see for yourself. When the camera is set to use AWB, everything will have a yellow cast.