Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-08-2010, 01:47 PM   #1

Auto Pict and "P"

I'm very, very much a newbie here and just got my Pentax k-x a week or so ago. The first couple of days that I had the camera, I got a couple of very good, crisp shots, but a lot of my pictures seem very noisy. I have a third floor apt that is pretty dark (horrible lighting), but even today I took the camera out on a very bright, sunny day (although shady in spots) and the photos still tend to have a lot of noise when I view them "actual size" using Picasa. I'm shooting mostly on auto and P...which leads me to ask, what is the difference between the two? And my second question is when I see the photo in actual size using Picasa, should the photo have no noise if it's a picture taken on a bright sunny day outside using "P"?

05-08-2010, 02:38 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
1. The main difference between Auto Pict and P is that Auto Pict doesn't allow you to override much at all - you are stuck with the setting the camera chooses - whereas P will choose settings but let you override them.

2. Noise has nothing to do with what mode you shot it; it has to do with what ISO you shot at. If you shot at a low ISO, there should be virtually no visible noise. Auto Pict should chooe a low ISO for you, but in P mode, it's possible you accidentally choose a higher ISO than was necessary.

It's impossible to say much more without seeing a sample image you are unhappy with - ideally, an unresized crop (aka "100% crop") of the area you think is too noisy, as well as a resized version of the whole picture so we can see where it is. And be sure not to lose the EXIF info along the way - or al least, be sure to say what ISO the picture was shot at.
05-08-2010, 04:06 PM   #3

Original Poster