Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2010, 09:41 AM   #1
Pentaxian

UWA for a newbie

Hi, I am still new at the stage of this new hobby, so far I find myself inclined at the wider end of my kit lens, any suggestions for a lens upgrade? Or should i stick with it?

Thanks

05-11-2010, 10:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Difficult question. Some people like the compactness of DA15, some the zoom of 12-24, some the close-up capability and speed of DA14, some like the Tamron 10-24 as it is cheap and some take the risk with Sigma 10-20.
I chosen the DA14.
05-11-2010, 10:11 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Well Wed7, beware.... if you do get a wider lens, you'll be opening the door for LBA to sneak in!

Before you'll know you will also need a macro lens, then you need a very fast lens, then you'd find a tele for portrait and children closeups also nice, then you need a fish eye for its special effects, then you probably want to upgrade to some pro glass because of the better rendering, then you need a superzoom because it is handy for this city trip, then you've seen these lovely primes, a mirror lens, ..... , ..... , .....

Not to mention, one flash, another flash, a tripod, a monopod, a small bag, large bag, image tank, better PC, pro monitor, high res printer, software, backup ..... , ..... , .....

Beware!
05-11-2010, 10:45 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The first thing I would do is look at other people's photos at 10mm through 16mm. I find that I don't really like the perspective distortion of a rectilinear lens at 10mm. I wouldn't avoid one of the zooms that go to 10mm, I just wouldn't value that extra range over one that only goes to 12mm.

You can also consider how important having a large maximum aperture is. I think it's less important for ultra wide angles, but if you're shooting in limited light all the time, it can be useful.

With that information, you can narrow down your list.