Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2010, 08:04 PM   #1

New to DSLRs

As Im sure you guys get from time to time, Im new to this DSLR thing. I did read thre fraggers thread and how much the k10d was recommended, but seeing as its bee about a year since then i wasnt sure how much the landscape has changed. Perhaps new inputs has altered the recommendations.

Im looking to step up from the point and shoot camera. I can get some great shots out of it(Olympus 790 sw*) but i want more. Ive planning on getting a job on a cruise liner so i will be traveling quite a bit and am looking to take advantage and get some great photos.

Being that is is a cruise liner I would be near water so the weather sealed bodies would probably be a good idea. The primary reason i bought that olympus is because of its durability,completely water proof, resistant to cold and very sturdy. I do want a camera that I can go with for a while as this will be a good chunk of change. Im looking to stay sub 1000 though preferabbly around 750 if i can get away with it. I have NO lenses or really any strong desire for a particular brand.

After doing some research i found a Kx for 675 with 2 lenses
Walmart.com: Pentax K-x Black 12.4MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm & 55-300mm Zoom Lenses: Digital Cameras

It seems like a great deal to get two lenses and a body for that price.
I had heard some negatives about the battery consumption and hard to find accessories for it, which had me looking at the d5000. Though the need to get lenses with vr in them scared me a bit.

I really am brand new to this and have little knowledge of SLRs so this is going to involve alot of experimenting, and i do want something that will last a while and age with me, whch is why i am eyeballing the newer cameras.

Ive heard good things about the d90 but thats getting a bit pricey especially compared the the kx with 2 lenses.