Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-13-2010, 07:39 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Very New Need Help

Hi I am New to this whole thing lol. I have been trying to shoot baseball games using a Nikon D60 with 18 to 55mm not so good lol. I just bought 2 lenes ROKINON 500mm and 800mm i was wondering if anyone can tell me if they are good for shooting sports hockey and baseball? I am very new i dont know if i wasted my money or if they will work can anyone help me out.
Thanks
Derrick

05-13-2010, 07:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

You'll need light, lots of daylight. IQ will be poor as these are mirror lenses (notice they were cheap and small for their reach?) but a decent starting spot for you.
05-13-2010, 08:12 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
not good as most game are at nite lol what should i get?
05-13-2010, 08:18 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Those Rokinon lenses can be fun to play with, but I doubt they'll be all that useful for shooting sports (particularly hockey, which is usually played in doors). Those lenses are very hard to focus because they're rather dark and they have a very shallow depth of field. They are also manual focus. You'd be better off with a zoom lens, something like a 70-300mm lens. Or, if you want better IQ and are willing to focus manually, you might want to track down some older telephoto primes lenses: you may be able to find something with pretty good IQ for around what you paid for the two Rokinon lenses. You just have to make sure that the older lens is not a "non-AI" lens, since they tend not to work with Nikon DSLRs. You may also want to track down some Nikon related sites to get more specific advice on what are your options with D60. Most of the folks here are Pentax shooters and don't know a huge amount about Nikon.

05-13-2010, 09:19 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Yeah I think you will find the 800 and maybe even the 500 will get you just too close.