Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2010, 01:30 AM   #1
Forum Member

newbie with K-x which lens will suit me?

Hi all,
This is my fist post here, but I've read alot and you guys seem to know a lot so.....
I have decided to buy my first SLR camera, a Pentax K-x, I am happy with my decision this far but I am having so much trouble deciding which lens option is best for me. I have read and read as much as I can absorb for a complete newbie. Some opinions would be useful to help me make a decision. I have read over lots of posts in this forum, that has been a very educational experience, but haven't found a post which describes my situation.

Most important to me is I want to take some good photos of my family and 2 year old son, so indoors/low light and moving object.

I love the look of Bokeh, but I am a complete novice so I know I gotta learn to use the camera before I can get too fancy.

I had lots of fun in the past with the macro on my point and shoot.

I want to learn how I can use the camera to take good photos of my family, have some fun and generally amuse myself.

I know I should wait to see what I need but, I have a really limited budget now and in the future so buying lenses in future will be a struggle. I hate buying junk and regretting it later, my budget was $700 but I'm prepared to stretch it, and it is stretching it, to $900 if that will give me the most satisfaction and least frustration as I come in the future to understand how to use the equipment.

I am thinking my best path is the Sigma 17-70 and some cheap manual focus "fast 50" that I pick up later, and save up $ for a longer focal lenght zoom

These are the options and best prices in Australian $, I'm not interested in importing from Adorama or anyone. I have include my novice opinions.

1.Sigma 18-125 f/3.8-5.6
$680 Good versatile range, but slow, maybe not great for low light and indoors, which is important to me