Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2010, 06:44 PM   #1

macro setting

I recently upgraded to a K-7..I can not find macro setting..do I need to use a macro lens for my camera? I had an istD previously & it had a macro setting.

I am still learning this new beast of a camera 7 I do love it..I ma still trying to get all the setting down & use too

Thanks, ~Debra

05-28-2010, 06:51 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
DSLR's never have a macro setting. If anything, there's a macro mode, which adjusts the shutter speed and aperture so that it's optimal for macro shots. This mode is only available on the *ist DS/DS2, DL/DL2, K100D, K110D, K200D, K2000/K-m, and K-x. The *istD, K10D, K20D, and K-7 don't have this setting. BTW- all it likely does is try to use a smaller aperture.

If you want to achieve macro, you'll need a macro lens! However, close-ups, with a magnification ratio greater than 1:5, can typically be taken with any zoom lens.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-28-2010, 08:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Aperture priority with a DSLR!
05-29-2010, 05:45 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thank you for your reply..I meant to say mode! On my istD it does have a macro mode. I used it all the time! I figured as much that I would need to adjust the settings and/or use a lens. Like I said before, I am still getting use to this camera. I appreciate your help Thanks again!!!

05-29-2010, 07:51 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hi Debra,