Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2010, 11:44 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
K20D & Inherited A lenses

I was trying to decide on my first DSLR and to a degree the ability to use older lenses helped me on going for the K20D. I have a 35mm Super Program my father owned, along with a Kiron 70-210mm f4 and Sigma 28-105mm F4-5.6 ( and the 1:1.7 50mm that came with the camera ). I am quite new to a camera such as the K20D and wonder if anyone here thinks these particular lenses are worth trying with this model. Any thoughts on set up would be much appreciated! ( do I set the f stop ring to A?) I have been searching for related threads and reading the manual of course but am wondering where to start - eg - full manual control or something else? I will probably buy the DA 16 - 45mm soon as a starting point for a newer lens. There sure is a lot to learn!

Last edited by Johnny5; 05-30-2010 at 11:51 PM.
05-30-2010, 11:48 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This those lenses feature 'A' aperture (the Super Program, a great camera in itself, supported this function), then they'll work normally in all exposure modes on your K20D, but with manual focus. If these lenses require manual setting of aperture, then they will work like M and K lenses. Please check the articles section for details on how to meter with those

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

05-31-2010, 01:10 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forums.....