Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2010, 05:43 AM   #1
Forum Member

Macro lens required for Pentax K-X

Hi,

I'm new to this and am slowly learning photography. I bought the K-X twin lens kit as a good starting DSLR. I am looking for recommendations on additional bits and bobs to get me started. I am looking for value for money and probably good secondhand stuff compatible to get me started - until I feel comfortable and spend big bucks!

I am looking for a macro lens. I am also looking for a flash gun.

Any suggestions welcome on this subject.

Thanks...

Jaq1967

05-31-2010, 06:24 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tamron 90mm/2.8 Macro and Sigma EF-530 Flash would do you well.
05-31-2010, 06:26 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I would get one of the mid level Metz flashes (48 maybe?). As far as macro lenses, they are all sharp. Tamron 90 and Pentax 100 mm seem to get the most love around here. I own the DA 35 which is excellent, sharp and doubles as a walk around lens. The only thing is that you have to get awfully close to use the DA 35 as a macro lens and that doesn't work so well with bugs.
05-31-2010, 07:34 AM   #4
rkt

I would recommend the Tamron 90mm 2.8 as well... it is a great sharp lens, and gets a lot of points in reviews in the IQ and value-for-money departments ...

and for a flash, I will second the Metz 48AF1 as well ... it is very feature rich for it's price point ... with a swivel/tilt head ...

I recommend you check some reviews on these two ... and you can PM me if interested in these second hand ...

05-31-2010, 07:45 AM   #5
Ira
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Ahab Quote
Tamron 90mm/2.8 Macro and Sigma EF-530 Flash would do you well.
I second the lens, but I would hold off on the flash.